Ironman has announced the 100 lucky age-groupers who have won a spot at this year’s Kona via its lottery programme, along with the 100 age-groupers who have earned their spot through its legacy programme.


This year’s lottery-winning athletes range in age from 20 to 74 and represent 16 countries, with seven of them Brits: 

George Banks, 26, from London
Gabriela Rendekova, 33, from London
Luis Arosemena, 41, from Kingston Upon Thames
Robert Clarkson, 48, from Godalming in Surrey
John Krumins, 50, from London
Nicola Walker, 52, from Largs in Scotland
and Jennifer Tait, 53, from Oxford.

Click Here: maori all blacks rugby jersey

The lottery programme was set up by Ironman founders John and Judy Collins in 1983, and also has slots for five physically-challenged age-group athletes, none of them Brits this year.

Legacy programme

This year’s legacy winning athletes include four Brits:

James Dalton, 39, from Kings Langley
Jason McKinnon, 41, from Kineton in Warwickshire
Stuart Staples, 41, from Bicester
and Matthew Dawes, 42, from London